The bi-annual Celebration of Architecture and Design Awards Program has long been a mainstay for WMAIA. In partnership with the Western Massachusetts Section of the Boston Society of Landscape Architects, the program aims to encourage and recognize distinguished architectural and landscape design achievement and honor the project team, including the clients and consultants who work together to improve the built environment. Participation in this program involves sharing your work at the WMAIA Annual Meeting on December 14, 2022, regardless of whether your project has been selected for an award. Our aim is to increase awareness of the fine work produced within our community.

The Western Massachusetts AIA/Western Massachusetts BSLA Design Awards Program recognizes and honors excellence of all types of building designed by architects & landscape architects — members and non-members— practicing in the Western Massachusetts region

Any building type or landscape project anywhere in the world completed at any time in the last seven years (after January 1, 2015) is eligible if the architecture firm/architect-of-record or landscape architect currently has its principal office in Western Massachusetts, which is defined for the purposes of this program as Berkshire, Franklin, Hampden and Hampshire counties or if the architect having a lead project role (i.e., Project Principal, Project Designer, Project Architect, Project Manager) is a member of WMAIA.

Eligible projects may be new construction or renovations and may be projects for private or public clients. Projects that previously received awards through this program are not eligible.

Any eligible architect/firm and/or landscape architect/firm may submit any number of qualifying entries provided each is submitted separately with the appropriate registration fee.

The foremost judging criterion is design excellence. The judging will be informed by the AIA Framework for Design Excellence, which contends that design is not solely about aesthetic components, but also concerns how buildings perform for people.  The Framework for Design Excellence is made up of 10 measures, formerly known as the COTE Top Ten (see link under “Submissions” section).

We invite submissions of:

  • Works of Architecture
  • Works of Landscape Architecture

Interdisciplinary Work

Click on image below for full info.